Permission Levels
Previous Topic  Next Topic 

Permission Levels


Permission levels have the following properties:


Property

Description

Name

The name of the permission level, up to 80 characters.

Description

A description of the permission level, up to 255 characters.

Status

The status determines whether the access level appears in lists or not. This is useful if you cannot delete an access level because it is in use by one or more employees.


General object permissions include:


Permission

Description

View

Determines whether an employee with this permission level can view all or a limited subset of the objects. If set to limited then the employee must be assigned to the individual objects you wish them to see.

Report

Determines whether an employee with this permission level can report on all or a limited subset of the objects. If set to limited then the employee must be assigned to the individual objects you wish them to report on.

Manage

Determines whether an employee with this permission level can manage all or a limited subset of the objects. If set to limited then the employee must be assigned to the individual objects you wish them to manage. Management permissions include:


Edit

Can change properties of the object.

Edit Advanced

Can change advanced properties of the object, which generally means anything involving bill, pay and other monetary rates and amounts.

Create

Can create new objects of this type.

Delete

Can delete objects of this type.

Import

Can import objects of this type.

Export

Can export objects of this type.

Customize

Can manage custom fields for objects of this type.

Approve

Determines whether an employee with this permission level can approve all or a limited subset of the objects. If set to limited then the employee must be assigned to the individual objects you wish them to approve.


There are some special timesheet permissions:


Permission

Description

Can view my timesheet

If not checked, the "My Timesheet" tab will not be shown, even if the employee has a timesheet template in their employee profile. This permission is useful for simplifying the user interface for employees who meet all of the following criteria:


  1. They are not recording work hours
  2. They are not required to submit their timesheet
  3. They are only using the Leave Request feature on the Home tab to record leave
  4. Their employee policy's Schedule Rules is configured to add leave requests to their timesheet

Can undo submit of my timesheet

This applies to timesheet objects only, and determines whether an employee can unsubmit (unlock) their timesheet. Note that once a timesheet has been approved the employee will not be able to unsubmit it, regardless of this permission.


Note that this permission also works in conjunction with the "Can review my timesheet only" permission (see below). If both are checked than the employee will be able to review their timesheet in a read-only manner, and will be able to "undo" and change their review.

Can copy my previous timesheet hours

This permission determines whether employees can have timesheet memory carry forward hours from the previous timesheet (this is set from the Home > Preferences page). This permission also determines whether the employee sees a "Copy Previous Timesheet" option on their timesheet. If this permission is off then the employee can only carry forward or copy rows from the previous timesheet.


Note that if you turn this permission off, but an employee has already set their timesheet memory to carry forward rows and hours, you will need to also change their timesheet memory setting from Employees page.

Can punch from time clock device only

Turning this permission on will allow an employee to only punch in/out from a time clock device, ensuring their physical presence. The employee will not be able to punch in/out from a web browser. The employee will still be able to add leave to their timesheet using a web browser, however.

Can edit my punches

This applies to timesheets only, and determines whether an employee can edit work time entries on their timesheet. If this permission is not enabled then:


  • Employees will not be able to edit the start, finish or hours fields of their work rows manually.
  • Employees will not be able to delete work rows from their timesheets.
  • Employees will not be able to delete their timesheet.


Employees will still be able to change the project or pay code, enter notes, etc. of work rows. Also, this permission does not affect leave rows - employees will be able to add leave rows to their timesheet.

Can review my timesheet only

This permission allows employees to see their timesheets in a read-only view, and gives them the ability to review the time entered for them. They can then accept the timesheet or report a problem. This is useful for employees working in crews where a site manager enters time for them.


Timesheet reviews can only be done by the employee, and must happen BEFORE the timesheet is submitted (locked). The review is stored in the timesheet notes field. Managers can see the reviews from the Timesheets and Approvals tabs with clear icons indicating whether the employee accepted the timesheet or reported a problem.


Note 1: The employee review icons are only shown for unsubmitted (unlocked) timesheets. Once submitted, the review  icons are no longer shown (as the timesheet is considered processed), but the review information is still available in the timesheet notes field.


Note 2: If you want to allow the employee the ability to "undo" their review, check the "Can undo submit of my timesheet" permission (see above). They will be able to undo and change their review until the timesheet is submitted (locked) by their manager. However, they will not be allowed to undo the submit of the timesheet, as the review permission only allows read-only access to the timesheet.